Japan and United States victories on Wednesday announced the return of softball to the Olympic stage after a 13-year absence. Softball first became an Olympic sport in 1996, and it appeared in each summer Games through those in 2008 in Beijing, after which it was dropped. The 2020 Olympics are the fifth Olympic appearance for USA Baseball/Softball, which was last played in 2008. The sport was left out of the 2012 Olympics in London and the 2016 Olympics in Rio de Janeiro. Watch Softball Olympics 2020 live online.
Japan, the host country of the Summer Olympics, upset USA Softball in Beijing in 2008 and is the defending gold medal team in the sport. The USA had won the gold in 1996 in Atlanta, 2000 in Sydney, and 2004 in Athens.
The Tokyo Olympics will begin in full swing. Several events are already in the middle of the competition, and the US softball team has already proved itself with a 2-0 start in the first softball tournament since 2008. Meanwhile, the US women’s soccer team lost a shock 3-0 win over Sweden in their opening match and will look to face New Zealand again on Saturday. Live online Olympic Softball (LIVE STREAM LINK)
The USA had already played two softball matches. On Tuesday, the USA beat Italy, 2-0. On Wednesday, the USA beat Canada 1-0.

Women’s Baseball/Softball Schedule
Saturday, July 24, 2021

Australia vs. Canada
Time: 9:00 pm ET/ 2:00 am BST
United States vs Mexico
Time: 1:30 am ET/ 6:30 am BST
Japan vs Italy
Time: 9:00 pm ET/ 2:00 am BST

Women’s Softball Schedule
Sunday, July 25, 2021

Australia vs United States
Time: 9:00 pm ET/ 2:00 am BST
Canada vs Japan
Time: 1:30 am ET/ 6:30 am BST
Italy vs Mexico
Time: 7:00 pm ET/ 12:00 am BST

Women’s Softball Schedule
Monday, July 26, 2021

Japan vs United States
Time: 9:00 pm ET/ 2:00 am BST
Canada vs Italy
Time: 1:30 am ET/ 6:30 am BST
Mexico vs Australia
Time: 7:00 pm ET/ 12:00 am BST

Bronze Medal Game
Tuesday, July 27, 2021
Fourth-place in-group vs Third-place in group, 12:00 am ET/ 5:00 am BST

Gold Medal Game
Tuesday, July 27, 2021
Second-place in-group vs First-place in group, 7:00 am ET/ 12:00 pm BST